One Word…FASHION!

This is it.

That moment where I put myself out on a limb and hope to god it pays off. As a nice young white Jewish boy sitting in his room trying to find what the hell I want to say, I think that I have an opportunity to say something big; Something life changing; something that maybe I didn’t even know before. And it all starts with one word…

ashley_jung_lineup.jpg

Photo from Google Images

FASHION!

007-anna-wintour-theredlist

Anna Wintour

Anna Wintour: I think what I often see is that people are frightened of fashion and that because it scares them or it makes them feel insecure, they put it down. On the whole, people that say demeaning things about our world, I think that’s usually because they feel in some ways excluded or, you know, not part of the ‘cool group’ so as a result they just mock it. Just because you like to put on a beautiful Carolina Herrera dress or, I don’t know, a pair of J Brand blue jeans instead of something basic from K-Mart it doesn’t mean that you’re a dumb person. There is something about fashion that can make people very nervous.” – The September Issue (2009), Vogue Editor-in-Chief

I think it’s easy to exempt ourselves from something that has potential to challenge us. The easy way out is a road most people wish they could always take. But the reality is, that’ll get you nowhere in any facet of life. I want you to take on the challenge of style and fashion as a way to learn about yourself.

Although, a lot of the time I do admit, I too feel like Andy Sachs from The Devil Wears Prada:

First Impressions

When you see someone walking past you in the street, stranger or not, what is the first thing you notice about them? Now, some of you might have said their faces, but in actuality, studies show that most people notice what the other person is wearing before almost anything else.

Fashion gives incredible insight into a person’s personality. Examining someone’s style provides huge amounts of clues that can inform a predetermined judgment or thought on them before even speaking to each other. For example:

15ef7af00fa8710e77b9407ed0209fcbfe54568e.jpg

Photo from hespokestyle.com

o-HOODIE-facebook.jpg

Photo from Google Images

You see a man walking towards you wearing a dark hoodie and grey sweatpants with the hood pulled far over his head and sunglasses shield his eyes.

VS.

You see a man walking towards you wearing a well-tailored three piece suit with a necktie and tie clip attached. He has his fair slicked back and a briefcase in hand.

Two very different styles of dress, and two very different clues that give huge insight onto the type of person that they are. I just hope none of you ever wear what person 1 does.

“Fashion isn’t just utility. It is a form of iconography, used to express individual identity…and it’s pretty.”- Devil Wears Prada (2006)

msc-0518.jpg

I Judge You, You Judge Me.

Picture this: you are an interviewer at a fortune 500 company that sells something cool. This is all hypothetical. I know you are all poor…as am I. Anyway, I am coming in for an interview to be the new marketing adviser. I show up in black sweatpants and a white T-shirt with white socks and sandals and a baseball cap. I hope you all cringed and thought, “Um…this guy is definitely not right.” I may have all the qualification in the world, but, fashion is a way to represent and present yourself in certain circumstances and contexts in the best way possible. You would’ve…or should’ve expected me to come in with a well tailored suit or something that screams with sophistication. Instead, I came in looking like a drab gym-goer. I definitely not get that job.

This blog is, hopefully, going to help you improve your wardrobe, and your outlook on fashion. Basically, I aim to do exactly what this video does:

Fashion says a lot about a person.

Fashion is fun because everyone wears things differently! I am here to encourage you to experiment. Go out, try some funky things, maybe laugh at how ridiculous you look in certain pieces (I know I do). The pressure is off.

Be yourself. Have fun. Play.

That’s all.

Yona.

cc532e50-153f-0134-e772-0a315da82319.jpg

Standard

Leave a Reply

